Peanuts….

Standard

I try to question Cake often about what foods he can eat and what he can’t eat. I’ll ask him if he can eat _____ and he gives me the correct answer almost all of the time. We had a friend over the other day and he told her he can’t eat eggs that ‘look like that’ (while pointing to over easy eggs). Yay! I thought, awesome, he’s actually getting that he can’t eat certain foods!

Then we went to a park.

And he was sitting on the bench eating an almond butter and jelly sandwich (almonds and coconuts are the only nuts he can eat, which is awesome because so many products have coconut and almond in them). A women came up and talked to him. She started to ask about his lunch. The conversation went like this:

Woman: Wow, is that a peanut butter and jelly sandwich?
Cake: Yup it is!
Woman: Yummy, I love peanut butter and jelly!
Cake: Yup, me too. I love peanuts!

Cake has never eaten any peanuts before. Ever. And if he ate one, he would likely get the epipen and we would go to a hospital.

I guess my questions and quizzes for him haven’t been as successful as I had thought. We’ll keep working on it, I guess!

Leave a Reply

